AIP Tuna Salad (hidden probiotics)

probiotic-tuna-salad-01

I really need to start writing things down.  I know I’ve had ideas about what to blog about, but it seems like every time I sit down at the computer, my mind goes completely blank.  My memory just ain’t what it used to be.

This gives me anxiety more and more these days, as I’m watching my toddler grow up, knowing I’m not doing enough to document her “firsts” and all the funny little things she does.  So much joy in watching her and experiencing things with her, but also a sadness in the inevitability that I will forget many of these precious moments.  I’m torn between wanting to be “present,” as they say, and wanting to photograph or video everything.  I feel like I’m not doing a good job at either.

I guess the anxiety has reared its ugly head even more lately, since I’m trying to get my husband healthy again.  I’ve always been the main cook in our house, but in the past it was no big deal if I was too tired to cook.  PB&J for dinner?  Lunch at our fave place down the road?  Yay!  Now there’s no room for me to get lazy about cooking.  If I skip having something available for even one meal it could affect him really badly.  Pressure, much?

Oh, man, can you guys tell I’m tired?  I’m Debbie Downer today!

I’m really new to this paleo and AIP world, but so far I haven’t seen any mention of the spouse of the ill person doing the cooking.  All the blogs I’ve come across are written from the perspective of the person who is trying to heal himself/herself.  Surely I can’t be the only one on this side of the arena?  If you know of anyone else blogging about a similar situation, please give me a heads up so I can check  ’em out.

probiotic-tuna-salad-03Okay, feeling sorry for myself OVER.  Let’s get to this tuna salad recipe.  We had leftover tuna steaks a few nights ago, and this is what I whipped up.  The inspiration came from reading (on a kraut jar? on a blog? can’t remember where now!) that kraut can be used interchangeably for pickles.  Makes sense, it being tangy and yummy and all.  I have been looking for ways to get Hubby to eat kraut, ’cause he’s not totally thrilled with it plain.  It wasn’t a big leap to get to adding it to tuna salad in lieu of pickles.  Glad I did!  This salad was far more yummy than any regular tuna salad I’ve had.

The baby turned her nose up to it at first, but once I finally got her to try it, she gobbled it down and begged for more.  It’s so stinkin’ cute when a toddler says “Nyom nyom nyom,” especially when that’s one of only three or four words in her speaking vocabulary so far.  What’s that you say? “Nyom” isn’t a word?  Well, I’d invite you to visit me for a day or two and see if you don’t wanna change your stance on that.

AIP Tuna Salad with Kraut

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 ounces of cooked tuna, shredded (you could substitute canned)
  • 1-1/2 cups sauerkraut
  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup of  unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 of a red onion, minced
  • Zest and juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 Tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Throw everything into a big bowl and mix.  If you have time to wait, let it marry in the fridge for a while.  It’s better that way!
  2. Serve over a bed of mixed greens and garnish with extra slices of red onion.
  3. Nyom nyom nyom!

probiotic-tuna-salad-02

2 responses to “AIP Tuna Salad (hidden probiotics)

Leave a Reply

