Marinated Grilled Tuna Steak

asian-grilled-tuna-01 Is it just me, or has time been passing pretty quickly these last couple of weeks?  I have been having trouble balancing all my extra cooking (and dish washing) duties with work, taking care of the kid, oh, and sleep.  Unfortunately blogging has dropped to the bottom of my priority list lately.  I have managed to take some photos and get a few draft posts, but finding the time to finish them has been difficult.  I again find myself wondering how mommy bloggers do it.  Any tips from you seasoned professionals out there would be much appreciated!

In an effort just to get something up here, I’m gonna keep this one really brief.  Quick news about the hubby: he told me today he has been cramp-free and “regular” in the bathroom for several days and his stomach is currently feeling great.  It is welcome news for me because we haven’t even been following this autoimmune protocol a month yet, and already there have been a couple of times I’ve been in tears, feeling an overwhelming sense of being a hamster in a wheel.  With cooking three squares and some snacks every day, I feel like I finish washing dishes only to turn around and find the sink full again.  Does anyone else feel this way?  I’m not a very good homemaker, but I’m tryin’.

At any rate, hearing the good reports from the hubby makes it all worth it.  And I’m starting to figure out the weekly menu planning to allow for leftovers and cooking/freezing extra.  Hopefully I’ll get back to regular blogging soon.  In the mean time, I’m posting this recipe for grilled tuna steaks.  These are so flavorful and delicious!

asian-grilled-tuna-03Marinated Grilled Tuna Steak

Ingredients:

  • 4 tuna steaks
  • Juice of 1-2 limes
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Whisk together marinade ingredients in a shallow glass dish.
  2. Place tuna steaks in the marinade and swish/flip them around so they get completed covered in the good stuff.
  3. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge to marinate for at least 2 hours.
  4. When ready to cook them, set them out of the fridge to come up to room temp, about 15 minutes.
  5. Preheat your grill (or large saute pan) to screamin’ hot (~600 degrees).
  6. Quickly clean and oil your grill grates.
  7. Slap those babies on and grill them for about 3-4 minutes per side for medium rare.
  8. Drool and groan as you eat them, because they are that good.

Hope you enjoy these as much as we do.  We have eaten these three times in the last two weeks (more if you count leftovers)!

asian-grilled-tuna-02

2 responses to “Marinated Grilled Tuna Steak

Leave a Reply

