Pan seared ribeye with sauteed chard and roasted beets

pan-seared-ribeye-sauteed-chard-roasted-beets-02Phoenix Helix got me in the mood for steak with this recipe.  I used her method of pan searing and then finishing the steak in the oven. Hubby likes his on the well side — boo!  I sliced the steak and put it over some garlicky sauteed red chard and roasted beets.  Drizzled basil vinaigrette over the steak, and hey! It was good.

For the chard, I minced some garlic and tossed it in the pan with the chard stems and about 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil.  A couple minutes later I added the leaves and sauteed them for a minute, until they were just wilted.

The beets roasted while the steak was resting.  I threw some whole garlic cloves and onion pieces in with golden and red beets, drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled with salt, pepper, and thyme, and roasted at 400 degrees.  I may or may not have gotten distracted and burned them a little.  No one can prove it because I was alone in the kitchen!

 

Leave a Reply

