Plantain Smoosh!

 

plaintain-chips-01These plantain chips were a hit with the whole fam, but I don’t know how often I’ll make them, because it was a pretty time consuming endeavor.  Pan frying them, you can only get so many in a batch.  You don’t want them to overlap in the pan or they won’t fry evenly.  One plantain took me four batches in a 12″ skillet, and probably 30-45 minutes.  I was feeling pretty zen at the time, so this is something I’ll keep in the repertoire for the non-hurried days.

I reckon deep frying would be the easiest way to get similar results, but 1) I don’t have a deep fryer and 2) I ain’t ABOUT to put that much coconut oil in a deep fryer.  Too expensive. This blog article has good info on why modern vegetable oils should be avoided in favor of coconut oil for cooking.

plantain-smoosh-01Next time I make these, I will try baking them with a quick spray of olive oil, but in the mean time, I did the next best thing: the humble Plaintain Smoosh!

These babies are not pretty, but they get the job done.  Hubby snacked on them just the same as the pretty little chips, and he probably didn’t even notice the difference! This says far less about my culinary skills and far more about his maddening ability to cruise through life without observing very many of its details.  Ahem. Details such as the small mountain of dirty socks that has piled up in the front hall, right where he left them.   🙂  Husbands, sheesh!

plantain-smoosh-02Plantain Smoosh

To make the Plantain Smoosh, all you need to do is cut the plantain into 1″ chunks, and smash it against the cutting board until it’s about 1/4″ thick.  Throw your smooshed pieces into the skillet with a couple tablespoons of olive oil and fry the first side on medium-ish heat until golden brown, then flip and use your spatula to smoosh them again so you’ll get a flat, even browning on the second side as well.  Remove to a paper towel and sprinkle with a little salt.

I was able to get one whole plantain in the pan at once, so cut down on the total cooking time considerably.  Yay!  I did something clever! (Laziness generates some of my most creative recipe modifications, you know.)

I can’t wait to try making these plantain crackers.  We are definitely in need of some crunch in the house.

One response to “Plantain Smoosh!

Leave a Reply

