Gentlemen, start yer engines!

The hardest part of doing a thing is the getting started, right?  Yep!  Post #1. Numero uno. Entering the great unknown.  Yikes!

I think in order to give this blog a fighting chance of surviving from the outset, I’m going to attempt to keep most of my posts short and sweet.  I’ve read so many lovely blogs with witty, well written, lengthy posts, and I always wonder how these blogger people do it.  Most of them are mothers (of multiple children) and entrepreneurs of some sort, and I can barely manage my one measly little toddler’s demanding demandiness every day.  (Just kidding! She’s not really measly — she’s awesome.) Add in weekly meal planning/cooking, keeping up the housework, and trying to squeeze in a couple hours of work-work each day, and I’m a big pile of mush by the end of the day.

super momma

I’m imagining these supermoms derive their energy surpluses from mega-green-monster protein smoothies and quinoa-kefir-pastured-grass-fed-kombucha-kale-primal-coconut-water. My average breakfast is coffee plus whatever scrambled egg remnants are left in the bottom of my daughter’s high chair after she eats.  Eggs are healthy, right?

I knew a while ago I needed to start concentrating on feeding the family a more consistently healthy diet.  Inconsistency has been my biggest problem.  Some weeks I plan, and we’re super healthy, and other weeks we eat chicken breast, frozen veggies, and pasta every night.  But my husband’s recent diagnosis of Ulcerative Colitis has brought the situation to a head, and long story short, we’ve decided to go paleo.  Specifically the Autoimmune Protocol, which further limits what you can eat in order to help heal your gut and/or prevent your body’s inflammatory response to certain trigger foods.  Here it is, in a nutshell:

Don’t eat:

  • Nuts or seeds
  • Beans or legumes
  • Grains
  • Dairy
  • Eggs
  • Nightshades (tomatoes, peppers, etc)
  • Soy
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Sugar or artificial sweeteners (even stevia)
  • Seed- or pepper-derived spices (cumin, paprika)
  • Any preservatives or other processed food crap

Do eat:

  • Organic/grain fed/pastured/all-natural
  • Meat and Fish
  • Offal/organ meat
  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Herbs
  • Fermented foods like kimchi and kombucha
  • Bone broth

This is a super tough road, but we’ve decided to jump in with both feet and hopefully stick to this protocol very firmly for at least a month, after which time we will slowly start reintroducing the restricted foods to see how they affect the hubby’s tummy.  For me, the challenge will be having to cook every.single.day. with no reprieve.  I usually get a break once every week or ten days because we eat out.  Since the focus is on getting hubby healthy again, I have to make sure he has a varied menu with three meals and some snacks every day; otherwise he’ll grab junky stuff during the work day.  For him, the difficulty will be trying new foods he’s unaccustomed to or uncomfortable with (namely anything fermented).  It’ll be a magic act for me to hide the good stuff within things that look more familiar (liver mixed into burgers, anyone?).  Hey, wait a minute, there’s a short end of the stick here, and I think I’ve gotten it!

Here’s a little preview of what we’ve been eating for the past couple of days.  I’ll be working on posting recipes soon.

plaintain-chips-01

apple-sweet-potato-hash-03

zucchini-noodles-alfredo-sauce-02

bone-broth-chicken-01

You may wonder about having a toddler and implementing this diet as a family-wide thing.  Well, we’re not.  She will still have organic dairy and eggs, whole oats and some other grains (but no wheat), and probably beans, legumes, and nuts.  I just don’t want to spend time thinking about whether she’s getting everything she needs.  It’s enough of a struggle to wrap my head around how I’m going to make this work for the rest of our lives, since Ulcerative Colitis has no cure.  I suppose I’ll be dragged kicking and screaming into hippiedom.  Nice.

Family Selfie

P.S. So much for short and sweet!

Leave a Reply

